Welcome message from Father Stephen

Welcome to the website of the Church of the Holy Fathers of Nicaea.  We are a thriving and diverse Orthodox Church.  Many of us come from traditional Orthodox countries – Greece, Cyprus, Romania, the Ukraine, Russia etc., many are British people who have found a home in Orthodox Christianity.  Our services are conducted in English, because it is our common language.

Orthodoxy is, quite simply “Christianity”! It is the Church founded by Jesus Christ after his Resurrection.  Orthodox Christianity is a wonderful religion, full of joy, hope and excitement. Every year we remember the events of Christ’s life, reflect on the meaning and renew ourselves through experiencing these feasts.

Beauty is very important for us, beauty in the icons, beauty in the church buildings, beauty in the chanting, beauty in the services.  We enjoy our Orthodox Christianity and hope that anyone who visits our church will have their minds opened to the ineffable glory and majesty of God, the Holy Trinity.

Orthodox Christianity is something that we LIVE and DO.  It affects the whole of our lives and is for every day and hour of the week.  Because it is something that we do, it is only by joining in with that “doing” that people can really understand what it is all about.  So, if you are interested “Come and See!”

For Your Diary
Sun, 25 Feb 2024
  • 9:30 am Matins (Morning Prayer)

  • 10:30 am Divine Liturgy (Eucharist)

Tue, 27 Feb 2024
  • 7:00 pm Adult Catechism

Wed, 28 Feb 2024
  • 7:00 pm Scripture Study via Zoom

Thu, 29 Feb 2024
  • 10:30 am Morning Prayer & Scripture Study

  • 7:00 pm Chant training

Sat, 02 Mar 2024
  • Chad bishop of Lichfield

  • 6:00 pm Great Vespers (Evening Prayer)

Sun, 03 Mar 2024
  • 9:30 am Matins (Morning Prayer)

  • 10:30 am Divine Liturgy (Eucharist)

Tue, 05 Mar 2024
  • 7:00 pm Adult Catechism

Wed, 06 Mar 2024
  • 10:30 am Church cleaning

  • 7:00 pm Scripture Study via Zoom

Thu, 07 Mar 2024
  • 10:30 am Morning Prayer & Scripture Study

  • 7:00 pm Chant training

Sat, 09 Mar 2024
  • 🍇 The Holy Forty Martyrs of Sebastia

  • 6:00 pm Great Vespers (Evening Prayer)

Sun, 10 Mar 2024
  • 9:30 am Matins (Morning Prayer)

  • 10:30 am Divine Liturgy (Eucharist)

Tue, 12 Mar 2024
  • 7:00 pm Adult Catechism

Wed, 13 Mar 2024
  • 7:00 pm Scripture Study via Zoom

Thu, 14 Mar 2024
  • 10:30 am Morning Prayer & Scripture Study

  • 7:00 pm Chant training

Sat, 16 Mar 2024
  • 6:00 pm Great Vespers (Evening Prayer)

Sun, 17 Mar 2024
  • 9:30 am Matins (Morning Prayer)

  • 10:30 am Divine Liturgy (Eucharist)

  • 12:00 pm Children’s Catechesis | Varangian Guard Youth Club

Tue, 19 Mar 2024
  • Alchmund of Derby

  • 7:00 pm Adult Catechism

Wed, 20 Mar 2024
  • Cuthbert the Wonderworker, Bishop of Lindisfarne

  • 7:00 pm Scripture Study via Zoom

Thu, 21 Mar 2024
  • 10:30 am Morning Prayer & Scripture Study

  • 7:00 pm Chant training

Sat, 23 Mar 2024
  • 6:00 pm Great Vespers (Evening Prayer)

Sun, 24 Mar 2024
  • Forefeast of the Annunciation of the Theotokos

  • 9:30 am Matins (Morning Prayer)

  • 10:30 am Divine Liturgy (Eucharist)

Latest News

Werburgh, Abbess of Mercia
Orthodox Crossing: Intermission
Visit of His Grace Bishop Maximos of Melitene to Shrewsbury for his name day
Orthodox Crossing: Voices.
2023 Christmas Message of His Eminence Archbishop Nikitas

Today's Saints and Readings

Videos

Our Local Saints
Copyright © 2024