Pastoral Team

Created on: 18 June 2019

Fr Stephen Maxfield Priest in Charge

Fr Panteleimon Assistant Presbyter

Philoptochos Committee

The Board of Trustees of the Community

Youth Team Teachers and Youth Workers

Fr Stephen Maxfield

Fr Stephen was ordained a priest by His Eminence Archbishop Methodios of Thyateira and Great Britain at the Greek Orthodox Church on Sunday 28 December 1986 at St Andrew’s Greek Orthodox Cathedral in Birmingham.

Archbishop Methodios gave a blessing to Fr Stephen to establish a new Orthodox church in Shrewsbury.  On Saturday 13 October 1986 Fr Barnabas and Fr Alban served the first Orthodox Liturgy at Frankwell Methodist chapel with a congregation of 35.   Fr Stephen has faithfully served the Orthodox community in Shrewsbury since that time.  He has paid particular attention to teaching with regular scripture study and catechism and now helps with the Archdiocese’s theological teaching at its centre in the Midlands. 

Fr Stephen joined the Orthodox Church with his whole family on the feast of the Great Martyr Nestor in 1985.  Before that he had been an Anglican Priest in the diocese of Hereford.  He first encountered the Orthodox Church in Steven Runciman’s History of the Crusades in 1962, then again a few years later when visiting Athens.  In 1973 he attended his first Orthodox service when Metropolitan Anthony of Sourouzh served in Guildford.  He was received into the Church by Archimandrite Barnabas.  

Father Stephen has a diploma in horticulture in 1973 and after studying at Chichister Theological College was awarded a degree in Theology from the Southampton University in 1977.

Fr Panteleimon

Fr Panteleimon has been a member of the community since its foundation.  He was ordained by His Eminence Archbishop Nikitas of Thyateira in 2022.  He assists Fr Stephen with pastoral duties.  

Philoptochos Committee

The Philoptochos Committee are responsible for the philanthropic work of the community.  They hold regular fundraising events and provide donations to the needy.

Present members:

  • Diakonissa Panayiota Maxfield
  • Presvytera Catherine Maxfield
  • Mrs Eleni Maoudis
  • Mrs Veronica Davies

The Board of Trustees

The Community Board is the administrative body of the Community. The following Trustees were elected in October 2021:

  • Banayiodis Vanezi (President)
  • Aidan Hart (Vice President)
  • Adrian Pavel (Treasurer)
  • Luke Thomas (Secretary)
  • Eleni Maoudis
  • Vasos Vanezi
  • Stavros Avraam
  • Owain Williams

Youth Team

The community has two main regular youth activities: Youth Club and Sunday School.  The following team is responsible for teaching and activities:

  • Presvytera Catherine Maxfield
  • Fr Panteleimon Maxfield
  • Mrs Philippa Humphreys
  • Mrs Dana Moldovan
  • Rdr Banayiodis Vanezi 
  • Mr Luke Thomas
  • Mr Theo Andreou
  • Miss Fodoula Nicolaou
  • Mrs Anna Bowe
  • Mrs Samantha Langton
  • Mr Nick Langton
Our Local Saints

Latest News

Melangell, Abbess of Pennant
The Panagia, the Life-Giving Spring
Photo gallery of Holy Week and Pascha
The Epitaphios
Why Did Christ Suffer Crucifixion?

Today's Saints and Readings

Copyright © 2024